Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev


Hello readers! This is my first ever post on my first ever blog, so I’m pretty excited!

As you could probably tell by my blog’s title, I am a huge bookworm. If I had time, I’d read so many books in a week. I’ve read Little Women at least 5 times (not including the sequels). So, it was only natural that I would review all the books I’ve read, or try to, at least.My friends will be grateful I’m not babbling on about the latest book to them, because I have this!

Alright, to the actual point of this post: the review.

Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev

Rating: 3 out of 5

Genre: YA Fantasy

Beatrice Shakespeare Smith was raised in the Théâtre Illuminata, where all her world is literally a stage. Here the actors and actresses were born to play their parts; so they are called the Players. They are from every single play that has been written, and they are bound to the Théâtre by The Book. Bertie’s friends (Bertie is Beatrice’s nickname), the fairies from A Midsummer’s Night Dream, and a pirate from TheLittle Mermaid named Nate are all Players. Along with them is Ariel, the sprite from The Tempest, but he is anything but Bertie’s friend. When Ariel steals and damages The Book, the whole theater threatens to collapse. Bertie must fix it, or she could lose the only home and family she’s ever known

This is a good book. Not the best, but still enjoyable. Author Lisa Mantchev uses theater, play references, and Shakespeare to make her story come alive. It seems like a different world when you’re reading it, like one of those books where everything seems familiar, but it’s actually not.  Kind of like a dream.

Basically, this is what happens: Bertie has another incident in the Theatre. She set loose a cannon and destroyed a set. So, the Stage Manager is really angry, and the Theater Manager (you can get confused sometimes) tells her that she only has a couple hours to decide how she’s going to give a considerable contribution to the Theatre, or else she’d have to leave. She hasn’t made a contribution yet, because she’s not a Player (an actress in one of the plays), and she never will be. Also, the whole “make it or leave” thing seems pretty minor, but keep in mind that the Théâtre Illuminata was the only home she’s ever known, so being forced to leave it would be close to heartbreaking.

She decides to restage Hamlet to Ancient Egypt, and become a Director. Staying true to the quote “With great power comes great responsibility,” everything falls on Bertie’s shoulders, and everything just happens to come crashing down (almost literally.) Ariel, the sprite from the Tempest, sees Bertie as an opportunity to escape from the Theatre, and finally go see the world. He was willing to do almost anything to get out.

What happens after results in a non-cliffhanger ending where almost everything is resolved well, but there’s just enough to provide the storyline for the next book (it’s the first in a trilogy).

Sometimes in the book, you can get confused, because everything happens rather briskly, and sometimes there are no introductions. Some of the characters felt underdeveloped for me. Maybe because they’re only supporting characters. However, the fairies were hilarious! I loved how Peaseblossom was trying in vain to control Moth, Mustardseed and Cobweb, who seemed EXTREMELY hyperactive. It was funny when Peaseblossom just gave up once or twice, and actually agreed with them instead of restraining them.

Bertie, on the other hand, I couldn’t really relate to. Maybe it’s because she’s a total rebel, and gets in trouble quite a lot. She’s really deadly at times, though, and that’s cool in a book. Plus, I love her hair.

Nate and Ariel as the two romantic interests of Bertie were rather alright. I couldn’t grasp the fact that they both had long hair, though. I always imagined Ariel with short hair, and I could barely picture Nate at all. Nate was a bit dry and overprotective, so that kind of sucked some of the appeal. Also, in the later in the book, I got confused as to who Bertie liked. In case you didn’t know, or didn’t notice, there’s a love triangle between Nate, Ariel and Bertie.

All in all, it was a good book, I enjoyed it, couldn’t put it down, Bertie  (but that’s what usually happens to books I read), but it’s not one of my favourites.

Thanks to goodreads.com for the blurb,  Lisa Mantchev for writing the book, and my teacher for giving me the book.

4 thoughts on “Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev

I'm reading your mind...no I can't, so comment

