Golden by Cameron Dokey


Golden By Cameron Dokey

Genre: Fairy Tale Fantasy, Romance

Rating: 3 out of 5

When Rapunzel’s mother was pregnant, she craved for the rapunzel (it’s a vegetable) growing next door. She was desperate, and so was her husband; he actually did something and stole some of it. Obviously, the witch caught him, and they made a bargain: he’ll get to keep the rapunzel, but when the baby is born, and for whatever reason they can’t love her, the witch (named Mesilande) gets to keep it.

When Rapunzel was born, she was totally and utterly bald, with no hope of growing hair. Devastated, her mother gave her away to Melisande, where she was raised for 16 years. After, she found out that Melisande had another daughter, Rue, and that only she could break Rue out of her enchanted tower prison. She has to do it in “2 nights, and the day that falls in between”. If not, then Rue will remain cursed…forever.

Like I said before, I love fairy tales. Love them. I expected this to be really good (that’s the thing: I expect WAY too much. Sorry.) Rapunzel wasn’t one of my favourites in the original fairy tales ( I liked Sleeping Beauty better), but I wanted to give this a try.

The storyline is good. There was potential to make it a great story, and some of it was. The beginning was interesting; it wasn’t something that you’d normally come across when reading about Rapunzel. I got confused a bit, trying to figure out what would happen in the end, but I gave up and started reading again.

The climax seemed like it was over too fast. It seemed pretty low-stakes, and it didn’t seem that it was exciting…

The romances in the book were cute. Henry (he’s not mentioned in any summaries) is Rapunzel’s best friend. He and Rapunzel have this banter thing going on, and it’s fun to read. She’s spunky and witty and he’s the same to her, always coming back with a teasing remark. There’s also this other prince, who goes to the tower when Rapunzel’s stuck there with Rue. His name’s Alexander, and I’d say more but it’d be a spoiler…

Golden by Cameron Dokey was a short read (for me), which is why I barely wrote anything, compared to other reviews. It’s a good read, but it wasn’t one of my favourites. I’ll see if I can read other books in the Once Upon a Time series.

Thanks to Cameron Dokey and Google images.

5 thoughts on “Golden by Cameron Dokey

  1. Excellent blog right here! Additionally your web site so much up fast! What host are you using? Can I am getting your associate link to your host? I wish my website loaded up as fast as yours lol

  2. I do not even know how I stopped up here, but I thought this publish was good. I don’t realize who you might be however definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you happen to aren’t already. Cheers!

I'm reading your mind...no I can't, so comment

