Book and Movie Review: Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen


Flipped 

Written by Wendelin Van Draanen, and directed by Rob Reiner

Rating: 9.5 out of 10 ( I know I usually make it out of 5, but I couldn’t manage it now because it was nearly perfect. )

Genres: YA Chick Lit, Coming of Age, Romance

Bryce Loski is the new kid in the neighborhood. Juli Baker’s the only girl in the famiy, and there aren’t any kids her age, until Bryce moves across the street. Juli thinks it’s love at first sight, while Bryce isn’t so sure; especially since it’s second grade. For the next 6 years, Juli chases Bryce, while Bruce runs from Juli. That all changes in the middle of eighth grade, when Bryce finally starts to see that there might be more to Juli than meets the eye. At the same time Juli’s starting to wonder if Bryce really is as wonderful as she thought. Can the girl with the iron backbone and the boy with dazzling blue eyes ever see eye to eye?

I read Flipped a couple years ago. I’m pretty sure that it was one of the best books I read the whole year. The main reason why I read Flipped was because I saw the movie trailer before watching the new Karate Kid movie. I had no clue that it was Flipped, until the end, which was when it got my attention, because I knew that a former teacher of mine had the book.

Anyway, since this book was one of my favourites, I’ll tend to gush about it, but I’ll really try to keep the teenage fangirling to a minimum.

With that said, I’ll start with the things I didn’t like. One thing would be Bryce’s attitude for the first half of the book, which is kind of hard to explain. Basically, I wanted to smack him upside the head.

That’s it. Now for the things that I did like in the book.

First off, the characters. Juli is my favourite. She’s witty, funny and passionate about life. She’s also a bit misunderstood, and her family isn’t exactly well off like the Loskis. She’s extremely smart, and according to Bryce, she’s an annoying know-it-all who hands in her A+ projects early to be used as weapons for the teacher to use against the rest of the class. If she was real, it’d be so awesome for me if she was my best friend.

Bryce is a hard character to talk about. All I can say is that you hate him, then you love him. But I think that’s only because the author makes Juli so likeable and Bryce makes a couple (slightly amusing) mistakes. You can’t help but go on Juli’s side.

The plot of Flipped was very good. There were barely any drags, and everything went smoothly. Bryce and Juli’s transition throughout the years as second graders to eighth graders was also nice, it didn’t seem as there were a lot of holes. There were a couple gaps, like from second grade to sixth grade, where you know nothing except Bryce still avoided Juli and she still really liked him. Other than that, it was fine.

The climax of the story is when everything changes. It was enough to make me worry abut how everytihg was going to turn out, and read as if there was no tomorrow (but that was probably because I had nothing to do the next day).

Also, Ms. Draanen is very desceiptive, and makes the world of Flipped leap off the pages. I sided with Juli for the most part of the book, until the climax, which is when you start suding with Bryce. I really felt for all the characters.

The ending was one of those where it leaves you wanting more. I really wanted it to go on, and I couldn’t believe that it ended there. The thing was, though, I also thought that it couldn’t have ended a better way! I think it might’ve had something to do with the fact that too much of a good thing isn’t that good. But it didn’t end like that, so it was awesome!

Callan McAuliffe (left) as Bryce Loski, and Madeline Carroll (right) as Juli Baker. Best leads ever.

Okay, now about the movie. First, it was really close to the book (plotwise), so that makes it automatically awesome. Next, the casting was very good, and they acted the parts very well. I especially liked Callan McAuliffe, who played Bryce (ahem). Madeline Carroll was excellent as Juli, too.

Also, the soundtrack is excellent, full of 50s classics like “Teenager in Love” by Dion and the Belmonts, and “Chantilly Lace” by Big Bopper.

Also, the movie’s set in the 50s and early 60s (I forgot to mention it earlier). The filmmakers transitioned everything very well from the 90s and early 2000s to that era. It made it seem better, in some aspects, because everything was so much simpler then, what with TVs with antennas that you had to fix to get the right channel (and no TV remotes! How did they survive?!) and no computers! So there were less distractions. Everything also seemed authentic; the clothing, mannerisms and technology clearly belonged to the fifties and sixties.

All in all, Flipped, both as a book and a movie, was excellent. I’d really recommended, especially if you like coming of age, he-said-she-said teen romances.

Edit: They have a movie website, too: flipped-movie.warnerbros.com/dvd/. I’ve checked it out myself, even back when it was promoting it in theatres (basically September 2011). It’ll play the trailer automatically when you visit the site.

I'm reading your mind...no I can't, so comment

